Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Promise of Pleasure by Cheryl Holt

Promise of Pleasure by Cheryl Holt (Spinster's Cure series book 1)

ISBN: 978-0425235089

Publisher:  Berkley

Mary Barnes has had it with her cruel stepmother who's hoarded the family inheritance, with her two privileged half sisters, and with feeling unloved and unappreciated. Her one desire is to flee her stifling world, but it doesn't seem possible, until a mysterious peddler offers her an elixir and a promise: one drink of his tonic in her true love's presence and the man will be hers. Thought she is too much of a realist to believe in magic potions, whe accepts the gift. As if by magic, a stranger crosses her path and steps into her life.
He is Jordan Winthrop, scoundrel, viscount, and desperately bankrupt heir to the Earl of Sunderland. He's also meant for Mary's half sister. Thrilled by his advances, intoxicated by their secret affair, Mary finds herself falling for a man who's already unmistakably engaged—to her sister's dowry. As for Jordan, he can't help but wonder if Mary is the woman to change his roguish ways—when he is spellbound in a sensual destiny spiraling beyond his control.

Sugar Creek by Toni Blake

Sugar Creek by Toni Blake (Destiny series book 2)

ISBN: 978-0061765797

Publisher: Avon

Welcome to Destiny, Ohio—where two families have been at odds as long as anyone in town can remember.

Rachel Farris returned to her childhood home with one mission in mind: get Mike Romo out of her family's apple orchard business and out of their lives. But hard-nosed and totally hot Mike, who happens to be the law in Destiny, is convinced the Farris clan stole the land from his family fifty years ago and he's not backing down. Even when shapely trouble shows up in a pair of designer blue jeans. However, neither the hunky cop nor the sexy prodigal hometown girl can anticipate the electricity that heats things up whenever they're together—adding new sizzle to an ongoing feud that's raged for generations, and soon putting both their hearts at risk.

Monday, June 28, 2010

Raising Kane by Lorelei James

Raising Kane by Lorelei James (Rough Riders series book 9)

ISBN: 978-1-60928-063-5

Publisher:  Samhain
She surrendered the reins. Now he’s raising the stakes.

Rough Riders, Book 9

When a patch of ice sends attorney Ginger Paulson head-over-high-heels down a flight of stairs, she has no one to care for her young son and her invalid father—until lethally sexy Kane McKay shows up at the hospital, determined to prove his cowboy chivalry. Past experience has inoculated her against take-charge men, but even Ginger isn’t immune to Kane’s invasive charm and Built Ford Tough body.

For two years rancher Kane McKay has followed the Little Buddies mentoring program’s cardinal rule—hands off his Little Buddy Hayden’s mama. But one look at Ginger’s bruised body and Kane is through watching the stubborn woman take care of everyone but herself. The feisty, curvy redhead needs his help, and he’ll give her the hands-on type whether she likes it or not.

After Kane throws out doctor’s orders and issues his own demands—her full sexual submission—Ginger realizes Kane’s caring nature extends beyond just fulfilling her physical needs.

Can the former hell-raiser convince the gun-shy single mom to look beyond his past…toward a shared future?

Warning: Contains one sweet and hot hunk of cowboy manflesh who uses every sexual trick in the book to render a sassy, fast-talking attorney speechless and put a new twist on the term “binding arbitration”.

My Review:

OMG!  Talk about a hot cowboy.  Kane is sexy and demanding but sweet and sensual.  What I wouldn't give to be Ginger (is only for one night).   Don't miss this latest installment in the Rough Riders series.

Monday, June 14, 2010

Patience by Lisa Valdez

Patience by Lisa Valdez (The Passion Quartet series book 2)

ISBN: 0425210545

Publisher:  Berkley


Known for her exceptional beauty, Patience Emmalina Dare has been pursued by admirers ever since coming of age. But suitor after suitor fails to inspire her love – or her desire. Certain she will never find a man who touches her deeply, she decides to forgo marriage in favor of pursuing her music. But just when Patience thinks she has her life well in hand, a passionate kiss with her enigmatic brother-in-law awakens a powerful need in her. How will she reconcile her desire for him and her desire for a life that's her own – and what will she do when he shows her a deep and hidden part of herself that she never knew existed?

When the secret of his illegitimate birth pushes Matthew Morgan Hawkmore from his place in society, the darkly handsome half-brother of the Earl of Langley plots his resurrection and his revenge. Betrayed and abandoned by the women he believed loved him, he swears to never again be controlled by love. But despite his vow, he is unable to resist the beautiful Patience, whose strength and self-reliance hide a need that he is perfectly suited to fulfill. Can he have her without loving her? What will he give up to keep her? And will her passionate surrender be the one thing that can stop him from making a tragic mistake that could destroy them both…

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Passion by Lisa Valdez

Passion by Lisa Valdez (The Passion Quartet series book 1)

ISBN-10: 0425203972

Publisher:  Berkley

A woman called Passion. A man who would make her true to her name.

In her second year of mourning, lovely young widow Passion Elizabeth Dare never dreamed she would be with a man again--and certainly not a complete stranger. But amidst the crowds of London's Crystal Palace, Passion finds herself discreetly, yet insistently, pursued by a sensual gentleman who awakens her long-supressed desires. After a loveless marriage of restrained propriety, Passion abandons herself to true bliss for the first time.

Intoxicated by his encounter with the beautiful stranger, Mark Randolph Hawkmore, Earl of Langley, cannot wait to see her again. As a series of rapturous rendezvous follows, he and his mystery lover find something rare and wonderful blossoming between them. But a blackmail scheme against the Earl threatens to destroy everything. As a scandal brews, each will have to choose between duty and desire...their love for their families--and their love for each other.